#Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Happy fall ya’ll! I say “fall”, but, as usual, Florida still hasn’t gotten the memo. We had a little nice weather teaser before it shot back up to the high 80s again! I’ve got my pumpkin scented candles burning & am doing everything possible to wish “fall” into existence! I realized I couldn’t remember the last time I’ve made broccoli soup & figured maybe, just maybe some warm soup might remind the weather what month it is. I couldn’t find the usual recipe I use so after finding a couple decent looking & sounding ones on Pinterest, squishing them together, adding things, skipping things, & basically completely butchering them so bad that I don’t even have to give those sites credit (lol), I came up with this…

broccoli cheddar soup

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 medium onion (diced)
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 2 cups regular cream (half & half can also be used)
  • 3 cups chicken broth or stock
  • 4 cups fresh broccoli florets
  • 1 cup matchstick carrots
  • 1/2 cup celery (diced)
  • 5 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 3 cups of shredded sharp cheddar
  • 1 cup shredded sharp cheddar for garnish (optional)
  • salt & pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Saute the onion & garlic with 2 tablespoons of butter and set aside.
  2. In a large pot, whisk together remaining butter & flour over medium heat for about 3 to 4 minutes.
  3. Slowly whisk in the cream & chicken broth and let simmer for about 20 minutes.
  4. Add broccoli, carrots, onions, and celery. Let them simmer on medium for about 25 minutes until the veggies are tender, stirring occasionally.
  5. Add salt, pepper, & shredded cheese.
  6. Allow the cheese to melt then serve. Top individual bowls with remaining shredded cheese if desired.

I actually used about 4 times the veggies the other recipes called for, but honestly it turned out perfectly balanced. I feel that one cup of broccoli does not a broccoli soup make. I also used way more cheese as well, but who doesn’t love cheese?! Anyways, hopefully “fall” will get here soon & I can try out some more cool weather recipes! Hope you enjoy this recipe! If you are anything like me & have to change up recipes you find online, I’d love to hear what variations you made! Have a favorite fall dish? Let me know so I can give it a try!

Leave a Reply

