#Charlotte’s Web Party #Pig Cupcakes

My 3rd grader, Destiny, just finished reading Charlotte’s Web with her class. To celebrate, her teacher, with the help from us parents, threw a little party to help them celebrate their reading achievement. It’s a perfect idea for a classroom setting, nursery or preschool group, summer kid’s book club, or just a themed play date. On to the best part of any blog post… the PICTURES!!

IMG_2837[1]

The party started out with a “veritable smorgasbord” that Templeton the rat (a character in the book) could only dream of. Pigs-in-a-blanket, mounds of fruits & veggies, & plentiful juice boxes were displayed among adorable little stuffed Charlotte’s Web characters & served on adorable pig plates. (I looked online & had no luck locating these pig plates but sent an email to the teacher to see if I can find where they were purchased. I’ll let you know when I find out!)

Charlotte's Web

While the kids enjoyed their snacks, they watched the movie. I can’t believe how many kids have never seen this adorable (though sad in parts) classic! I found the DVD on Amazon.com for only $4.99! Just click here if you’d like to add it to your collection or if you think this party idea seems like a TERRIFIC idea. I’m not sure if ya’ll are catching my book references, but for those of you who haven’t caught on yet, that is one of the words that Charlotte the spider (I’m sure she was named after me lol) writes about Wilbur in her web.

IMG_2840[1]

And to finish off this party right, PIG CUPCAKES!! Some marshmallows, pink frosting, pipe cleaners, pink & black gel icing, &  candy eyeballs (or chocolate chips if you can’t find the others) turned plain old cupcakes into adorable Wilburs. They were even displayed in a cardboard “pig pen” along with Charlotte & her web & a fair metal… just brilliant! Kinda bummed I can’t take credit for this creativity!

While the kids had to wrap things up so they could do that actual school stuff like spelling tests :/ I found a blog post with a links to tons of Charlotte’s Web coloring sheets that might be a fun addition to your party. Just click here to check those out. My personal favorite is Salutations – Chapter 5! Need some more Charlotte’s Web party inspiration? Check out the Charlotte’s Web Pinterest board I just threw together for some craft, recipe, & party favor ideas. Hope you enjoyed this cute party idea! :O)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

