#Mema’s Famous Carrot Cake

Happy Valentine’s Day! First of all let me apologize for not getting to as many Valentine’s crafts & recipes as I’d hoped. If you like me, you are a full-time mom & work as well, you know how hectic life can get. Add a sick kid, Valentine’s day parties at school, helping your child make valentines for their classmates, a much-needed date night, & a candy gram fundraiser to your already busy everyday life & you just can’t fit everything you planned in. I will be doing a Valentine’s Day post later today, but while I’m waiting for my turn in the shower (one bathroom with 4 people in the household = nightmare), I thought I’d share one of my absolute favorite desserts of all time! My Mema is famous for her carrot cake! Everyone wants her to make one for their birthday! Everyone wants seconds and will fight over the last slice if necessary! It’s just that damn good (Excuse the language, but the situation called for it!). If you’ve read my blog before, you know that my love hates veggies & most fruits. Getting him to eat anything remotely healthy is a chore, more like a puzzle to be solved. I’ve started finding ways around it like pureeing veggies before putting them into recipes. Having said that, when we first started dating, I assumed carrot cake would be a definite no for him, but I couldn’t have been more wrong! It has a full pound of carrots in there, but it is so good that even he can’t get enough! I always make my family little “I love you” baskets full of their favorite candies as well as non-food treats like Itunes cards, nail polish (obviously only for the girls), a movie they’ve been wanting, etc, but this year I decided to make my hubby one of the coveted carrot cakes to have all to himself! Home-made gifts are always the best anyways!

IMG_2611[1]Beautiful huh?! Now on to the recipe…

Mema’s Carrot Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 lb. carrots (peeled & grated)

Steps:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Grease 3 round cake pans
  • Line cake pan bottoms with wax paper then grease the bottoms again
  • Sugar the greased pans
  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl
  • In your large mixing bowl, mix oil & sugar
  • Add eggs
  • Slowly add dry ingredients, a little bit at a time, with the mixer still going
  • Add your grated carrots & mix until they are distributed nicely
  • Divide evenly into your 3 waiting cake pans
  • Bake for 30 minutes
  • Cool for 10 minutes in the pan
  • Carefully flip your cakes on to cooling racks
  • Remove the wax paper & allow to cool completely

While those are cooling, it’s time to make the frosting…

Cream Cheese Frosting with Pecans

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of cream cheese (softened)
  • 1 stick of butter or margarine (softened)
  • 1 box of powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (optional 1/4 cup for decorating the top)

Steps:

  • Whip all frosting ingredients minus the nuts in a small mixing bowl
  • Slowly add in your pecans
  • Frost between layers & on top of your cake
  • Add those extra chopped nuts on the top

IMG_2609[1]

Mine was for Valentine’s Day so I used a large heart cookie cutter to add a pecan heart to the top of mine to make it extra fancy. This cake is gorgeous to look at, super moist, & just a confectionery delight but was completely made & assembled in about an hour, a great cake for both experienced & beginner bakers! Believe me your family or whoever you make it for will be completely impressed by your culinary skills! Now to let you in on this weird little family secret to make this cake even more delicious… make it ahead of time, completely assembled, & freeze it until 30 minutes before you are ready to serve. I’m not sure what scientific process happens to that carrot cake in the freezer but it is pure magic. If and I mean a big IF there happens to be any leftover cake, I eat it straight out of the freezer! So say you read this and are like “I’ve tried carrot cake before, but it isn’t my thing,” then you didn’t have my Mema’s carrot cake! I’m so spoiled that I can’t even look at store-bought or restaurant carrot cake; it just isn’t the real deal & should be eliminated from human consumption from now on! Try this recipe! Let me know what you think! If my directions weren’t clear or if you have any questions, I’m here to help! Ok time to get ready to head to my dad’s & cook dinner for the 7  family member that were able to get off today My hubby has to work ;( but we did have a very nice date-night last night!

IMG_2632[1]

Love, love, love him!! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

