#Scarecrow Craft Project

 

At the beginning of the year, the parents were asked to sign up for a month to provide & do a craft with my daughter’s 3rd grade class! I signed up for November because I love fall! However in between a planning a birthday party (still haven’t gotten a chance to share that with you but will soon) & our busy life I completely forgot about it… until a week ago when I got an email from the teacher asking what day was good for me. Aaaaa! So I went right to my favorite source of inspiration, Pinterest, and started searching for fall crafts. I found this adorable scarecrow craft project & knew this was it! After a last minute trip to Hobby Lobby & Dollar Tree, I was ready to start prepping the craft kits. The pin I found used craft foam sheets, but I opted for felt with some cardboard backing instead. Interested in a great fall craft to do with your kids or class? Here’s what we did:

IMG_2138[1]

My Scarecrow

Materials:

  • Jumbo Craft Sticks
  • Cardboard
  • White Glue
  • Jute cord (ribbon or yarn would be another good option)
  • Felt (we used brown & orange)
  • Raffia
  • Googly Eyes
  • Marker or Crayon
  • Fall leaves or similar decorations

Directions:

  1. Lay out 5 jumbo craft sticks side by side and and glue them down on a piece of cardboard.
  2. Glue raffia to the top of the craft sticks in a messy fashion to create the scarecrow’s “hair”.
  3. Make your hat: Cut your felt rectangle to the shape of a hat (I added some cardboard to the back ahead of time so it stood up. If you opt for the original craft foam you can skip this step.). Glue down the strip of felt to the hat and add your fall embellishments if you’d like.
  4. Glue your hat to the top of the raffia. (This is the last piece that usually dries, so tell the kids to put a good amount of glue on the rafia, push the hat down firmly, then leave it alone- it will harden, I promise!)
  5. Add your face: Glue down 2 googly eyes. Glue down the triangle nose. Draw a smile with a crayon or marker.

AND YOU’RE DONE!!!

Since I was doing this with 18 3rd graders in a short period of time, I glued the craft sticks to the cardboard, added a jute cord “hanger”, & made the felt hats ahead of time. I used some ziplocs to make some little craft kits to pass out to each student.

IMG_2134[1]

Scarecrow craft kit

Usually we go with “a little goes a long way,” but this craft especially the gluing the rafia & hat to the scarecrow face required loads of glue & even a little weighing down. The kids seemed to thoroughly enjoy making their scarecrow & it wasn’t too time consuming with all the prep work done ahead of time.

IMG_2136[1]

They turned out so cute!

IMG_2137[1]

Although some of the boys’ took a little creepy turn. lol You could definitely see the kids personalities in the finished projects.

The project idea & pin originally came from here. It’s a really neat blog; definitely check it out!! Happy fall!

Leave a Reply

