#Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Being a mom is a full-time job! With a part-time job as well, life can get crazy busy! While I enjoy cooking, sometimes dinner just needs to be quick & easy! Often a way to accomplish this is semi-homemade cooking! A wonderful example of this concept is my chicken enchilada recipe! The family loves it, but I knock a lot of the work & time by using a deli rotisserie chicken so it’s a win-win!

IMG_1782[1]

What you need: rotisserie chicken (any flavor), 2 cans of enchilada sauce, taco or fajita seasoning (I tend to use whichever I have on hand), 2 cups of Mexican blend shredded cheese, pkg. of flour tortillas (sometime the smaller size fit better in the pan), & rice (forgot to put that in the picture – to save on time I usually use a pkg. of Uncle Ben’s microwaveable Ready Rice, but forgot to grab it at the store so just made a cup & a half in the rice maker)

IMG_1783[1]

While the rice is cooking/microwaving, I pull all the chicken off the bone & shred it a bit. Be real careful of the little bones, don’t want anyone to find one of those in an enchilada! Mix in the rice, about 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese, the seasoning packet, & one can of the enchilada sauce. Looks about like this when it is done!

IMG_1784[1]

I usually make 6 enchiladas since that’s what will fit in my baking dish. lol I evenly split up the chicken mixture between the tortillas, roll them up, & put them seam down in the pan so they won’t try to unroll! Then I pour the 2nd can of enchilada sauce over them & sprinkle with about a 1/2 cup of shredded cheese. Already looking good aren’t they?!

IMG_1785[1]

I bake them at 350 for about 30 minutes. Don’t forget to coat your pan with cooking spray; I did that today & the bottom stuck a bit 😦 Also let them rest a bit before trying to serve them because they come out much easier!

IMG_1786[1]

Added a veggie & a little sour cream! Usually us girls add diced tomato & shredded lettuce on top as well, but I was very forgetful this shopping trip! Anyways, dinner is served!

Now for those of you who follow my blog or know me personally, you know I cook for a veggie-hater! But if that wasn’t the case, I would definitely add some diced onions & peppers to the chicken mixture! This dinner only took 45 minutes start to finish, quick & easy, and the family literally inhaled it so I’ll take that as a compliment! Let me know if your family liked it!

Leave a Reply

