#Chicken and Rice

I mentioned in my last post how family dinner time has become such a chore & that I was trying to freshen up our family dinner menu. This week I haven’t been able to get as crazy & experimental as I’d like between work & a sick 8 year-old but did end up with some crowd-pleasers anyways. So as always I asked my love for a dinner idea & got very little help with the matter. He means well with his “whatever you’d like to make is fine”, but that just leaves it all up to me, the unpicky one, to decide what to make him, the picky one, for dinner. I did however get a vague “maybe chicken & rice” this time. This led to this conversation which I will share just so you can feel my pain! “But how would you like it cooked?” “Just season it & bake it.” “Just plain rice?” “As long as we have soy sauce, I’m good.” And with that, I feel my culinary gene shrivel up & die as well as my dinner time frustration growing! Anywho, I am not about to eat plain baked chicken & bland rice!! So this is what I came up with…

Chicken & Rice:

2 lbs of chicken breast tenders

1 family size can cream of chicken soup

white rice

garlic salt, pepper, & adobo

Preheat the oven to 375. Put rice in the rice cooker. (I can’t make rice on the stove to save my life!) Season the chicken tenders & bake them in a 9×13 dish for about 15 minutes. Smear the soup all over the top & bake for another 15 minutes. Serve over rice with a side of veggies. (Green beans in my case)

That might sound boring & too easy, but it was warm, filling, & delicious!! It took literally 30 minutes & everything I needed for the whole meal cost $15! There is room here for many variations:  substitute yellow, brown, or wild rice for the white, cream of mushroom or cheddar soup instead of chicken soup, & obviously whole chicken breasts would have been fine though that will lengthen the cooking time. You get the picture! But long story short… everyone loved it which makes this mommy very happy!!

Leave a Reply

